Buy Online Original London Cast of Girl From The North Country - Girl From The North Country (Original London Cast Recording)

Original London Cast of Girl From The North Country

Girl From The North Country (Original London Cast Recording) CD Album

CD $25.99

Release Date: 29/09/2017

Discs: 1

Premiering at London’s Old Vic theatre to unanimous rave reviews, Girl From The North Country is a new play by award-winning writer/director Conor McPherson, using interpretations of the classic songs of Bob Dylan. The play, set in Dylan’s hometown of Duluth, Minnesota in 1934, centres on a community living on a knife-edge in the local guesthouse. The owner, Nick, owes more money than he can ever repay, his wife Elizabeth is losing her mind and their daughter Marianne is carrying a child no-one will account for. And, when a preacher selling bibles and a boxer looking for a comeback show up in the middle of the night, things start to spiral beyond the point of no return.

Brought to life by a 20-piece company of well-known actors and musicians, the play beautifully weaves the iconic Dylan songbook into a story full of hope, heartbreak and soul, featuring songs from every period of Dylan’s catalogue, in stunning new musical arrangements by Simon Hale. The Original London Cast Recording took place at the iconic Abbey Road Studios.

‘Magnificent… This is Dylan like we’ve never heard him before’ -- Evening Standard

‘Astonishing… Lovely arrangements’ -- The Guardian

‘Piercingly beautiful… Ravishing arrangements liberate the songs’ -- The Independent

‘Exceptional’ -- The Observer

‘A tribute and a triumph’ -- Sunday Express

‘An instant classic’ -- The Times

1. Sign On The Window
2. Went To See The Gypsy
3. Tight Connection To My Heart
4. Slow Train Coming / License To Kill
5. Ballad Of A Thin Man (Instrumental)
6. I Want You
7. Blind Willie McTell (Instrumental)
8. Like A Rolling Stone / To Make You Feel My Love
9. Like A Rolling Stone (Reprise) / I Want You
10. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere / Jokerman
11. Sweetheart Like You / True Love Tends To Forget
12. Girl From The North Country
13. Hurricane / All Along The Watchtower / Idiot Wind
14. Lay Down Your Weary Tune (Instrumental)
15. Duquesne Whistle / Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power) / Is Your Love In Vain? / License To Kill
16. Tight Connection To My Heart (Underscore / Reprise)
17. Lay Lady Lay (Instrumental) / Jokerman (Reprise) / Clair De Lune
18. Forever Young
19. My Back Pages